Poems from Ryiee

My friend from maximum security, I will call him Ryiee (not his real name) sent me some more of his poetry. Below are two that I especially found interesting. Let me know what you think.

NOT WORTH IT

My wondering thoughts have always met at the places of regret that I wish I could forget

Oh how I loathe to ever know the depths of the hole that is my soul

But that I’ll face, in that final place, in God’s grace, to be judged in my disgrace

I’ve been sinning from the beginning;

even repenting how can I be forgiven when there’s no love within

Without love why should the Father above lift heaven’s gates up

Why should I abode in the land of gold; just cause my heart’s cold as gold, I don’t think so

Let me save you your advice, I’m not worth the Savior’s sacrifice

I believe in Jesus, for sure, even agree with everything He stands for

While my mind already knows this, my heart’s always clueless.

NEVER KNOWING

How many times must I get burnt?

You’d think by now I’d have learnt.

I’ve always met, with much yearning,

what I should have been spurning.

So many times it’s led me down this road.

So many times I know I should have said no.

But who can walk in my shoes & feel what I feel?

Walk all those miles, that just don’t seem real.

And knowing I will keep walking in only one direction.

Understanding me and freedom have no connection.

You can think or say whatever you like

Tell me I’ve done wrong, I’ll tell you you’re right

Tell me I deserve death, I’ll even agree

But not to go on living never to be free

You can sit on your throne and judge me like you do

But until you’ve lived my life you haven’t a clue.

It doesn’t matter how much I regret

Nor how many things I wish to forget

I’ll gets my grave the same as the living

Never knowing what it’s like to be forgiven.

About Pastor Kevin

I am a husband, father, pastor, teacher, scuba diver, reader, bike rider, author...in that order.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment